Pennsylvania DUI | The bank rate
Many factors affect the rate you pay for auto insurance. One of them includes the perceived risk profile that accompanies your driving history. Tickets and accidents can cause rate to increase, and being convicted of a DUI can lead to substantial change.
Getting a DUI has different levels of severity depending on the state you live in. Pennsylvania has three different levels, using the blood alcohol content as a basis. Here’s how your insurance can be affected if you get a DUI in Pennsylvania.
How Does a DUI Affect Your Insurance Rate?
Driving under the influence is a serious offense and can dramatically increase your insurance rates. If convicted of a DUI, you are considered a high risk driver which means that the insurance company will increase your rates based on your new risk assessment.
The rate increase nationwide is on average 99%, but in Pennsylvania, expect an average increase of 109%, as shown in the graph below.
National vs state average rates with DUI
|Pre-DUI||Post DUI||Percent increase|
|national||$ 1,674||$ 3,336||99%|
|Pennsylvania||$ 1,476||$ 3,092||109%|
How much does it cost for insurance after a DUI in Pennsylvania?
If you are convicted of a DUI in Pennsylvania, expect your insurance rates to go up. If you have only minimum liability coverage, you may not see as much of an increase as someone with full coverage. In fact, the more coverage you have on your auto insurance, the more a rate increase can have a significant impact on your overall premium.
Some auto insurance companies may not give you the option to renew your policy if you receive a DUI conviction. It depends on the business and state you live in, and may or may not be reflected in the rate tables below, which show increases in coverage rate with a DUI in Pennsylvania for minimum liability and full insurance.
Pennsylvania minimum supplier coverage rate
|Provider||Average minimum coverage rate||Minimum coverage rate with DUI|
|Allstate||$ 531||$ 1,265|
|American Independent||$ 1,080||$ 1,713|
|AmTrust Financial||$ 657||$ 656|
|Car owners||$ 272||$ 736|
|Donegal||$ 290||$ 972|
|Erie||$ 293||$ 495|
|Geico||$ 267||$ 1,028|
|MetLife||$ 796||$ 2,236|
|The car drivers||$ 664||$ 1,777|
|Penn National||$ 217||$ 467|
|Progressive||$ 433||$ 483|
|QBE||$ 241||$ 794|
|State auto insurance||$ 370||$ 686|
|State farm||$ 294||$ 473|
|USAA||$ 290||$ 395|
Pennsylvania Provider Full Coverage Rate with DUI
|Provider||Average total coverage rate||Full coverage rate with DUI|
|Allstate||$ 1,338||$ 3,277|
|American Independent||$ 3,268||$ 5,329|
|AmTrust Financial||$ 2,157||$ 2,184|
|Car owners||$ 1,098||$ 2,463|
|Donegal||$ 1,279||$ 4,994|
|Erie||$ 1,079||$ 1,662|
|Geico||$ 916||$ 3,286|
|MetLife||$ 2,413||$ 6,230|
|The car drivers||$ 3,069||$ 8,722|
|Penn National||$ 971||$ 1,881|
|Progressive||$ 1,278||$ 1,582|
|QBE||$ 1,042||$ 2,882|
|State auto insurance||$ 1,604||$ 3,143|
|State farm||$ 1,143||$ 1,747|
|USAA||$ 1,126||$ 1,461|
Other consequences of the Pennsylvania DUI
While increasing insurance premiums due to a DUI can be costly, someone who is arrested and charged with a DUI will incur other costs as well. The figures below are taken from Pennsylvania Department of Transportation and are only estimates:
- Accelerated Rehabilitation Provision (ARD): $ 100 to $ 1,800
- Alcohol Rating: $ 35 to $ 100
- Lawyer and other legal fees: $ 2,000 to $ 8,000 and more
- Fines: $ 300 – $ 10,000
- Restoring your license: 25 $
- Treatment and education: $ 100 to $ 1,000 and more
- Vehicle impound costs: $ 75 – $ 175 a day
- Vehicle towing: $ 50 plus mileage
These figures do not include jail sentences imposed, lost wages due to incarceration, or court or parole costs. In Pennsylvania, driving under the influence is considered a cumulative offense, which means that each additional DUI increases the penalties, with a look back period of 10 years from the date of the first charge, no conviction.
Although the penalties are severe and the costs are high, drink and drive still accounts for nearly 30% of all traffic-related fatalities. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates that one person dies every 50 minutes in the United States as a result of impaired driving.
What’s the penalty for a first-time DUI in Pennsylvania?
The penalty varies depending on your blood alcohol level, as Pennsylvania uses a tiered system.
If your blood alcohol level is between 0.08% and 0.09%, you could be subject to six months probation and $ 300 in fines.
A blood alcohol level of 0.10 to 0.159% requires two days to six months in jail, fines between $ 500 and $ 5,000 and license suspension for 12 months.
For a blood alcohol level of 0.16% or more, that’s a minimum of three days in jail for up to six months, fines of $ 1,000 to $ 5,000 and a one-year suspension of your license. .
This does not include the increase in your insurance or other charges mentioned above.
What is the new DUI law in Pennsylvania?
Although not entirely new, Law 24, the Driving Under the Influence Act, was enacted in 2003. It was at this point that the multi-level approach to the offense was created and also when the legal limit was lowered from 0.10 to 0.08, which is the case. today.
If you refuse to submit to a breath or chemical test, or if you are suspected of being under the influence of controlled substances, you may be subject to the higher penalties for blood alcohol levels mentioned above.
Are you going to jail for a DUI in Pennsylvania?
It depends on your blood alcohol level when loaded or if you were under the influence of alcohol or drugs. For a first offense with a low blood alcohol level, you can only get probation. However, if you were under the influence of drugs or controlled substances or if your blood alcohol level was over 0.9%, you could spend anywhere from a few days to six months in jail.
How long will I lose my license after a DUI in Pennsylvania?
If this is your first offense and your blood alcohol level was below 0.10%, there is a chance that you will not lose your license. If you plead guilty, your license could be suspended for up to a year. Installing an ignition interlock device on your car could allow you to drive while it is suspended. A locking device costs $ 175 to install and will cost $ 75 per month until it can be removed.
If your blood alcohol level was 0.10% or more, even if it is your first offense, your license is suspended for 12 months. If you are eligible and have completed the ARD, you can reduce your suspension to a month or two.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all postal codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and following full coverage limits:
- $ 100,000 of civil liability per person
- Civil liability of $ 300,000 per accident
- Liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 of uninsured bodily injury by a motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury by a motorist per accident
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Full $ 500 deductible
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week, and travel 12,000 miles a year.
* DUI qualifies as> .08 BAC
These are sample rates and should only be used for comparison purposes. Your quotes may be different.